Celebrating 25 years of the internet opening up

I usually ignore things like this, but the internet itself is an exception I would make.
I would like to make an unusual toast though, but more on that later.
We should be thankful that the internet opened up to the world and didn’t remain some silly govt project. And in spite of naysayers like Krugman who said that it’s impact on the economy would be no greater than the FAX machine, it has blossomed into this most wondrous thing.
I am truly grateful to the internet for the people it has helped me connect with, for the life it has made easier, for all the education and knowledge it has put within my reach for free, thus liberating me from my country’s vile, , intellectually stunting education system.
So here is my unusual toast.
I would obviously like to thank Sir Tim Berners -Lee and other pioneers, but I would also like to thank all the internet companies, that took dangerous risks on their own self to venture into unseen, unknown territories. Without them, their courage, their ingenuity, the internet would have remained but a govt project.
the_internet_65695
The internet by cartoonist Deleuran
I call this an unusual toast because it is unfashionable, politically correct even, to thank businessmen, who are seen and portrayed as nothing more than greedy, evil pricks, but it is undeniable that, without them, a third world person like me wouldn’t have had the chance to afford such a wonderful tool. So I wish these people, these entrepreneurs, all the best in the ventures, may they take more such risks, and make the internet even better.
May there be more cat videos, more Khan academy’s, more Facebook’s, and more of everything that people prefer. Thank you, and keep doing what you are doing, may you keep optimizing the internet,may there be more creative destruction.
Leave a Reply

